Art Center College of Design is a private nonprofit four-year school in Pasadena, CA, with its campus in a city. It was founded in 1930[1]. It has about 2,017 undergraduates[8].
Founding year: Wikidata (community-edited) · Other facts: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Ebenvia rankComing soonOur own ranking is on its way.How we rank
What a year at Art Center College of Design costs in 2026-27, for students from abroad[2].
$91,132[2]A year, from abroad
$7,594A month, on average
$364,528Four years, if prices stay the same
≈ ₩122.5Mat ₩per $1 · reference rate, editable
Where the money goes
From abroad$91,132[2]a year
From abroad
Tuition and fees$58,668[2]
Housing and food$21,832[2]
Books and supplies$4,000[2]
Transport and personal$1,472[2]
Health insurance and other$5,072[2]
Help paying, for students from abroad
Need-based aidNot stated on the school’s page[3]
ScholarshipsOpen to international students[3]
Applying for aidApply with your admission application[3]
As described by the school. Monthly and four-year figures are our own arithmetic from the yearly total.
Housing and food
Reported by the school to the U.S. Department of Education · per year, all students[8]
Room and board, off campus (not with family)$19,632[8]
The Scorecard does not say whether first-year housing is guaranteed or how many students live on campus. Check the school’s housing page.
Scorecard averages · reference only
Average cost of attendance$75,649[8]
Tuition$54,170[8]
These averages include U.S. students and the aid they receive. They are not an international student’s net price.
Getting in
IELTS 6.5[4]or Duolingo 115
SAT optional[5]send it if it helps
November 15[6]Fall - Early Action deadline
SAT/ACT scores are optional.
When to apply
From the school’s page · Oct 14, 2026[6]
Fall - Early ActionNovember 15[6]Decision By January
Fall - Priority dateFebruary 1[6]Decision Typically 2-3 weeksNo formal deadline after February 1 except Entertainment Design; rolling until the major fills
Spring - Priority dateOctober 1[6]Decision Typically 2-3 weeks
Dates can change. Check the school’s page before you apply.
Your application checklist
From the school’s page · Oct 14, 2026[7]
$50 application fee[7]
Completed online application[7]
Transcripts from all high schools and colleges attended; official copies due one week before the term starts[7]
High school transcript or GED, unless you hold a bachelor's degree[7]
English translation of transcripts not in English[7]
Portfolio specific to your chosen major (the most important part)[7]
Video essay, for certain majors only[7]
One short-answer essay and two essays[7]
English test (TOEFL iBT, IELTS or Duolingo) if no English-taught diploma or degree[7]
English scoreIELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 115[4]
InterviewComing soon
Filled marks come from the school. Dashed marks are not filled in yet.
Scores in detail
What the school asks for, and where its students land.
English test
TOEFL iBT, 1–6 scale
4[4]out of 6
IELTS
6.5[4]out of 9
Duolingo
115[4]out of 160
Stated as a minimum[4]
Accepts TOEFL iBT, IELTS Academic, or Duolingo.
Waiver or exemption: Not required for applicants with a high school diploma or bachelor's degree taught in English.
SAT and ACT
Coming soonTest score ranges are not reported for this school.
Extra steps for students from abroad
Coming soonRecords from outside the U.S., proof of funds for the visa and translations will be listed here.
How many get in
75%[8]Of applicants are admitted (U.S. and international together)