Coming soon. This is an early preview. Schools and figures are still being added.Data as of Oct 10, 2026
Schools / MA / Amherst College
Private nonprofit

Amherst College

Amherst, MA
Campus of Amherst College

Photo: Kenneth C. Zirkel · CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons · cropped to fit

Official name

Amherst College

#Amherst#PrivateUniversity#Since1821

Amherst College is a private nonprofit four-year school in Amherst, MA, with its campus in a city. It was founded in 1821[1]. It has about 1,911 undergraduates[5].

Founding year: Wikidata (community-edited) · Other facts: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Ebenvia rankComing soonOur own ranking is on its way.How we rank
205years of history[1]
  1. 1821Founded
  2. 2026Today
TypePrivate nonprofit
SettingCity
Undergraduates1,911[5]
From abroad13.1%[5]

Academics

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for Amherst College.

Visit the school’s page ↗

Costs

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for Amherst College.

Visit the school’s page ↗

Help paying, for students from abroad

Need-based aidOffered · applying for aid does not affect admission[2]
Need metMeets full demonstrated need[2]
ScholarshipsNot stated on the school’s page[2]

As described by the school.

Housing and food

Reported by the school to the U.S. Department of Education · per year, all students[5]
Room and board, on campus$18,390[5]
Room and board, off campus (not with family)$18,390[5]

The Scorecard does not say whether first-year housing is guaranteed or how many students live on campus. Check the school’s housing page.

Scorecard averages · reference only

Average cost of attendance$87,640[5]
Tuition$70,480[5]

These averages include U.S. students and the aid they receive. They are not an international student’s net price.

Getting in

TOEFL iBT 100[3]or IELTS 7.5

When to apply

Coming soonWe have not found the deadlines on the school’s page yet.

Your application checklist

Coming soonWe have not found the checklist on the school’s page yet.

Scores in detail

What the school asks for, and where its students land.

English test

TOEFL iBT
100[3]out of 120
IELTS
7.5[3]out of 9
Duolingo
130[3]out of 160

Recommended or expected, not stated as a minimum[3]

TOEFL new scale: 5.5 (for tests from Jan 21 2026). Page says 'strongly recommended', not hard requirements.

Waiver or exemption: Only for applicants who completed the two most recent years of secondary education at a school with English as primary language, or native English speakers.

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026.

SAT and ACT

You do not have to send one. If you do, the gold bar shows where the middle half of enrolled students land.

SATOptional
1490 to 1580[5]
Middle half of enrolled students · approximate, built from section percentiles
4001600
ACTOptional
33 to 35[5]
Middle half of enrolled students
136

Extra steps for students from abroad

Coming soonRecords from outside the U.S., proof of funds for the visa and translations will be listed here.

How many get in

9.0%[5]Of applicants are admitted (U.S. and international together)
Coming soonApplications a year
Coming soonAdmitted from abroad

Living in Amherst

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for Amherst College.

Clubs, sports and activities

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for Amherst College.

For information only. Confirm every figure with the school before you make decisions.