Coming soon. This is an early preview. Schools and figures are still being added.Data as of Oct 10, 2026
Schools / MA / Tufts University
Private nonprofit

Tufts University

Medford, MA
Campus of Tufts University (photo 1 of 3)Campus of Tufts University (photo 2 of 3)Campus of Tufts University (photo 3 of 3)

Photo 1: Swampyank · CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons · Photo 2: Daderot · Public domain via Wikimedia Commons · Photo 3: Swampyank · CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons · cropped to fit

Official name

Tufts University

#Medford#PrivateUniversity#Since1852

Tufts University is a private nonprofit four-year school in Medford, MA, with its campus in a suburb. It was founded in 1852[1]. It has about 7,061 undergraduates[9].

Founding year: Wikidata (community-edited) · Other facts: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Ebenvia rankComing soonOur own ranking is on its way.How we rank
174years of history[1]
  1. 1852Founded
  2. 2026Today
TypePrivate nonprofit
SettingSuburb
Undergraduates7,061[9]
From abroad12.6%[9]

Academics

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for Tufts University.

Visit the school’s page ↗

Costs

What a year at Tufts University costs in 2026-27, for non-resident students[2].

$76,558[2]A year in tuition and fees

The school does not publish a fixed total that includes housing and food, so only tuition and fees are listed. The real total can be much higher.

Where the money goes

Non-resident$76,558[2]in tuition and fees
Non-resident
Tuition and fees$76,558[2]
Housing and food$9,374[2]
Books and supplies$1,000[2]
Health insurance and other$1,846[2]

Help paying, for students from abroad

Need-based aidNot stated on the school’s page[3]
ScholarshipsNot offered[3]
Applying for aidApply with your admission application[3]

As described by the school.

Housing and food

Reported by the school to the U.S. Department of Education · per year, all students[9]
Room and board, on campus$18,588[9]
Room and board, off campus (not with family)$18,588[9]

The Scorecard does not say whether first-year housing is guaranteed or how many students live on campus. Check the school’s housing page.

Scorecard averages · reference only

Average cost of attendance$88,300[9]
Tuition$70,704[9]

These averages include U.S. students and the aid they receive. They are not an international student’s net price.

Getting in

TOEFL iBT 100[4]or IELTS 7
SAT optional[6]send it if it helps
3.87[5]average high school GPA
November 2, 2026[7]Early Decision I deadline

Applicants may choose whether to submit SAT or ACT scores, which are read in light of the international background.

The page says: “Tufts University is test-optional”

When to apply

From the school’s page · Oct 14, 2026[7]
  1. Early Decision INovember 2, 2026[7]Decision Mid-December
  2. Early Decision IIJanuary 4, 2027[7]Decision Early February
  3. Regular DecisionJanuary 4, 2027[7]Decision By April 1

Dates can change. Check the school’s page before you apply.

Your application checklist

From the school’s page · Oct 14, 2026[8]
The same credentials required of all first-year applicants[8]
English proficiency (TOEFL, IELTS, PTE or Duolingo) unless you studied 3+ years at an English-instruction secondary school[8]
English scores can be self-reported after submitting; official scores are required upon matriculation[8]
English scoreTOEFL iBT 100 or IELTS 7[4]
EssayComing soon
InterviewComing soon

Filled marks come from the school. Dashed marks are not filled in yet.

Scores in detail

What the school asks for, and where its students land.

English test

TOEFL iBT
100[4]out of 120
IELTS
7[4]out of 9
Duolingo
130[4]out of 160
PTE Academic
68[4]out of 90

Recommended or expected, not stated as a minimum[4]

TOEFL new scale 5.0+. No superscoring/MyBest. TOEFL ITP Plus and IELTS Indicator not accepted.

Waiver or exemption: Page says 'no score minimums'; recommended scores shown. Not needed with 3+ years at English-language secondary school.

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026.

SAT and ACT

You do not have to send one. If you do, the gold bar shows where the middle half of enrolled students land.

SATOptional
1470 to 1560[9]
Middle half of enrolled students · approximate, built from section percentiles
4001600
ACTOptional
33 to 35[9]
Middle half of enrolled students
136
High school grades
3.87[5]
Average GPA on a 4.0 scale, from the school’s Common Data Set, 2025-26
04.0

These figures describe students who enrolled, not everyone who applied.

Extra steps for students from abroad

Coming soonRecords from outside the U.S., proof of funds for the visa and translations will be listed here.

How many get in

11%[9]Of applicants are admitted (U.S. and international together)
Coming soonApplications a year
Coming soonAdmitted from abroad
From the school’s admissions page · Oct 14, 2026Open the admissions page ↗

Living in Medford

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for Tufts University.

Clubs, sports and activities

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for Tufts University.

For information only. Confirm every figure with the school before you make decisions.