Coming soon. This is an early preview. Schools and figures are still being added.Data as of Oct 10, 2026
Schools / TX / The University of Texas at Austin
Public

The University of Texas at Austin

Austin, TX
Campus of The University of Texas at Austin

Photo: Guðsþegn · CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons · cropped to fit

Official name

The University of Texas at Austin

#Austin#PublicUniversity#Since1883

The University of Texas at Austin is a public four-year school in Austin, TX, with its campus in a city. It was founded in 1883[1]. It has about 42,855 undergraduates[8].

Founding year: Wikidata (community-edited) · Other facts: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Ebenvia rankComing soonOur own ranking is on its way.How we rank
143years of history[1]
  1. 1883Founded
  2. 2026Today
TypePublic
SettingCity
Undergraduates42,855[8]
From abroad4.4%[8]

Academics

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for The University of Texas at Austin.

Visit the school’s page ↗

Costs

What a year at The University of Texas at Austin costs in 2026-27, for non-resident students[2].

$64,204[2]A year, for non-resident students
$5,350A month, on average
$256,816Four years, if prices stay the same
≈ ₩86.3Mat ₩per $1 · reference rate, editable

Where the money goes

Non-resident$64,204[2]a year
Non-resident
Tuition and fees$42,554[2]
Housing and food$15,420[2]
Books and supplies$724[2]
Transport and personal$5,506[2]

Help paying, for students from abroad

Need-based aidNot stated on the school’s page[3]
ScholarshipsNot stated on the school’s page[3]

As described by the school. Monthly and four-year figures are our own arithmetic from the yearly total.

Housing and food

Reported by the school to the U.S. Department of Education · per year, all students[8]
Room and board, on campus$14,828[8]
Room and board, off campus (not with family)$14,964[8]

The Scorecard does not say whether first-year housing is guaranteed or how many students live on campus. Check the school’s housing page.

Scorecard averages · reference only

Average cost of attendance$31,247[8]
Tuition, in-state / out-of-state$11,688 / $44,908[8]

These averages include U.S. students and the aid they receive. They are not an international student’s net price.

Getting in

TOEFL iBT 79[4]or IELTS 6.5
SAT required[5]send it with your application
October 15[6]Summer/Fall Early Action deadline

The SAT or ACT is required, not optional; send at least one official score (self-reporting in MyStatus is allowed). SAT Essay, ACT Writing, ACT Science and SAT Subject Tests are not required.

When to apply

From the school’s page · Oct 13, 2026[6]
  1. Summer/Fall Early ActionOctober 15[6]Decision January 15Supplemental materials due October 22
  2. Summer/Fall RegularDecember 1[6]Decision February 15Supplemental materials due December 10
  3. SpringSeptember 1[6]Decision December 1Supplemental materials due September 8-9

Dates can change. Check the school’s page before you apply.

Your application checklist

From the school’s page · Oct 13, 2026[7]
$75 application fee[7]
Common App (summer/fall) or the Spring App (spring)[7]
At least one essay and the required short answers[7]
At least one official SAT or ACT score[7]
High school transcript listing 9th-11th grade coursework and class rank[7]
College transcripts, if you earned college credit in high school[7]
English proficiency unless exempt: TOEFL 79 (4 on the new scale), IELTS 6.5 or Duolingo 115[7]
English scoreTOEFL iBT 79 or IELTS 6.5[4]
InterviewComing soon

Filled marks come from the school. Dashed marks are not filled in yet.

Scores in detail

What the school asks for, and where its students land.

English test

TOEFL iBT
79[4]out of 120
TOEFL iBT, 1–6 scale
4[4]out of 6
IELTS
6.5[4]out of 9
Duolingo
115[4]out of 160

Stated as a minimum[4]

Accepts TOEFL, IELTS Academic, DET. Not accepted: TOEFL ITP, TOEFL Essentials, IELTS General Training.

Waiver or exemption: Exempt if from a qualifying country, or graduated from a US or qualifying-country high school after at least three years of study.

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026.

SAT and ACT

You do not have to send one. If you do, the gold bar shows where the middle half of enrolled students land.

SATOptional
1250 to 1510[8]
Middle half of enrolled students · approximate, built from section percentiles
4001600
ACTOptional
27 to 33[8]
Middle half of enrolled students
136

Extra steps for students from abroad

Coming soonRecords from outside the U.S., proof of funds for the visa and translations will be listed here.

How many get in

27%[8]Of applicants are admitted (U.S. and international together)
Coming soonApplications a year
Coming soonAdmitted from abroad
From the school’s admissions page · Oct 13, 2026Open the admissions page ↗

Living in Austin

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for The University of Texas at Austin.

Clubs, sports and activities

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for The University of Texas at Austin.

For information only. Confirm every figure with the school before you make decisions.