Coming soon. This is an early preview. Schools and figures are still being added.Data as of Oct 10, 2026
Schools / CA / University of California-Berkeley
Public

University of California-Berkeley

Berkeley, CA
Campus of University of California-Berkeley

Photo: User:Dcoetzee · Public domain via Wikimedia Commons · cropped to fit

Official name

University of California-Berkeley

#Berkeley#PublicUniversity#Since1868

University of California-Berkeley is a public four-year school in Berkeley, CA, with its campus in a city. It was founded in 1868[1]. It has about 33,068 undergraduates[8].

Founding year: Wikidata (community-edited) · Other facts: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Ebenvia rankComing soonOur own ranking is on its way.How we rank
158years of history[1]
  1. 1868Founded
  2. 2026Today
TypePublic
SettingCity
Undergraduates33,068[8]
From abroad9.8%[8]

Academics

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of California-Berkeley.

Visit the school’s page ↗

Costs

What a year at University of California-Berkeley costs in 2026-27, for students (the school’s page does not say whether this is for students from abroad) and for in-state students[2]. (From the school’s page. For more specific information, visit the school’s page.)

$93,944[2]A year, for non-resident students
$7,829A month, on average
$375,776Four years, if prices stay the same
≈ ₩126.3Mat ₩per $1 · reference rate, editable

Where the money goes

Non-resident$93,944[2]a year
In-state$54,674[2]a year

$39,270 more a year than an in-state student, all of it tuition[2]

Non-residentIn-state
Tuition and fees$57,484[2]$18,214
Housing and food$26,028[2]$26,028
Books and supplies$1,342[2]$1,342
Transport and personal$4,024[2]$4,024
Health insurance and other$5,066[2]$5,066

In-state figures are for U.S. residents, 2026-27. They are not what an international student pays.

Help paying, for students from abroad

Need-based aidNot stated on the school’s page[3]
ScholarshipsLimited[3]

As described by the school. Monthly and four-year figures are our own arithmetic from the yearly total.

Housing and food

Reported by the school to the U.S. Department of Education · per year, all students[8]
Room and board, on campus$23,750[8]
Room and board, off campus (not with family)$18,721[8]

The Scorecard does not say whether first-year housing is guaranteed or how many students live on campus. Check the school’s housing page.

Scorecard averages · reference only

Average cost of attendance$45,619[8]
Tuition, in-state / out-of-state$16,347 / $50,547[8]

These averages include U.S. students and the aid they receive. They are not an international student’s net price.

Getting in, 2027 entry

TOEFL iBT 90[4]or IELTS 6.5
SAT not used[5]the school does not look at it
October 1 - November 30[6]Fall filing period deadline

UC does not use SAT/ACT in admission decisions or scholarships. Submitted scores may be used to meet minimum eligibility requirements or for course placement after enrollment.

The page says: “UC does not consider SAT or ACT test scores”

When to apply

From the school’s page · Oct 13, 2026[6] · entry year 2027
  1. Fall filing periodOctober 1 - November 30[6]

Dates can change. Check the school’s page before you apply.

Your application checklist

From the school’s page · Oct 13, 2026[7]
$95 application fee[7]
Report your full academic history in the application (records are not submitted at this stage)[7]
Report external exam grades on the International Exams page of the application[7]
If admitted: official academic records from each institution attended, starting with grade nine[7]
Demonstrate English-language proficiency (details on a separate UC page)[7]
Letters of recommendation should not be submitted, though some campuses may request them[7]
English scoreTOEFL iBT 90 or IELTS 6.5[4]
EssayComing soon
InterviewComing soon

Filled marks come from the school. Dashed marks are not filled in yet.

Scores in detail

What the school asks for, and where its students land.

English test

TOEFL iBT
90[4]out of 120
TOEFL iBT, 1–6 scale
4.5[4]out of 6
IELTS
6.5[4]out of 9
Duolingo
115[4]out of 160

Stated as a minimum[4]

Also AP/IB English, ACT ELA 24+, SAT W&L 31+. Satisfy by Jan 31.

Waiver or exemption: Students with 3+ years of English language of instruction satisfy the requirement.

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026.

SAT and ACT

Coming soonTest score ranges are not reported for this school.

Extra steps for students from abroad

Coming soonRecords from outside the U.S., proof of funds for the visa and translations will be listed here.

How many get in

11%[8]Of applicants are admitted (U.S. and international together)
Coming soonApplications a year
Coming soonAdmitted from abroad
From the school’s admissions page · Oct 13, 2026Open the admissions page ↗

Living in Berkeley

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of California-Berkeley.

Clubs, sports and activities

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of California-Berkeley.

For information only. Confirm every figure with the school before you make decisions.