Coming soon. This is an early preview. Schools and figures are still being added.Data as of Oct 10, 2026
Schools / CA / University of California-Santa Barbara
Public

University of California-Santa Barbara

Santa Barbara, CA
Campus of University of California-Santa Barbara

Photo: Coolcaesar · CC BY-SA 4.0 via Wikimedia Commons · cropped to fit

Official name

University of California-Santa Barbara

#SantaBarbara#PublicUniversity

University of California-Santa Barbara is a public four-year school in Santa Barbara, CA, with its campus in a suburb. It has about 23,113 undergraduates[7].

Other facts: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Ebenvia rankComing soonOur own ranking is on its way.How we rank
TypePublic
SettingSuburb
Undergraduates23,113[7]
From abroad8.8%[7]

Academics

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of California-Santa Barbara.

Visit the school’s page ↗

Costs

What a year at University of California-Santa Barbara costs in 2026-27, for students (the school’s page does not say whether this is for students from abroad) and for in-state students[1]. (From the school’s page. For more specific information, visit the school’s page.)

$90,216[1]A year, for non-resident students
$7,518A month, on average
$360,864Four years, if prices stay the same
≈ ₩121.3Mat ₩per $1 · reference rate, editable

Where the money goes

Non-resident$90,216[1]a year
In-state$50,946[1]a year

$39,270 more a year than an in-state student, all of it tuition[1]

Non-residentIn-state
Tuition and fees$56,943[1]$17,673
Housing and food$23,985[1]$23,985
Books and supplies$1,515[1]$1,515
Transport and personal$3,441[1]$3,441
Health insurance and other$4,332[1]$4,332

In-state figures are for U.S. residents, 2026-27. They are not what an international student pays.

Help paying, for students from abroad

Need-based aidNot stated on the school’s page[2]
ScholarshipsLimited[2]

As described by the school. Monthly and four-year figures are our own arithmetic from the yearly total.

Housing and food

Reported by the school to the U.S. Department of Education · per year, all students[7]
Room and board, on campus$20,279[7]
Room and board, off campus (not with family)$17,047[7]

The Scorecard does not say whether first-year housing is guaranteed or how many students live on campus. Check the school’s housing page.

Scorecard averages · reference only

Average cost of attendance$41,573[7]
Tuition, in-state / out-of-state$16,414 / $50,614[7]

These averages include U.S. students and the aid they receive. They are not an international student’s net price.

Getting in, 2027 entry

TOEFL iBT 80[3]or IELTS 6.5
SAT not used[4]the school does not look at it
October 1 - November 30[5]Fall filing period deadline

UC does not use SAT/ACT in admission decisions or scholarships. Submitted scores may be used to meet minimum eligibility requirements or for course placement after enrollment.

The page says: “UC does not consider SAT or ACT test scores”

When to apply

From the school’s page · Oct 13, 2026[5] · entry year 2027
  1. Fall filing periodOctober 1 - November 30[5]

Dates can change. Check the school’s page before you apply.

Your application checklist

From the school’s page · Oct 13, 2026[6]
$95 application fee[6]
Report your full academic history in the application (records are not submitted at this stage)[6]
Report external exam grades on the International Exams page of the application[6]
If admitted: official academic records from each institution attended, starting with grade nine[6]
Demonstrate English-language proficiency (details on a separate UC page)[6]
Letters of recommendation should not be submitted, though some campuses may request them[6]
English scoreTOEFL iBT 80 or IELTS 6.5[3]
EssayComing soon
InterviewComing soon

Filled marks come from the school. Dashed marks are not filled in yet.

Scores in detail

What the school asks for, and where its students land.

English test

TOEFL iBT
80[3]out of 120
TOEFL iBT, 1–6 scale
4.5[3]out of 6
IELTS
6.5[3]out of 9
Duolingo
115[3]out of 160

Stated as a minimum[3]

80 for tests before Jan 2026; 4.5 for Jan 2026 or later. Single sitting only; MyBest TOEFL and IELTS One Skill Retake not accepted. Scores valid two years.

Waiver or exemption: Page lists alternative pathways: SAT/ACT, AP, IB, or college coursework (details not captured).

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026.

SAT and ACT

Coming soonTest score ranges are not reported for this school.

Extra steps for students from abroad

Coming soonRecords from outside the U.S., proof of funds for the visa and translations will be listed here.

How many get in

33%[7]Of applicants are admitted (U.S. and international together)
Coming soonApplications a year
Coming soonAdmitted from abroad
From the school’s admissions page · Oct 13, 2026Open the admissions page ↗

Living in Santa Barbara

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of California-Santa Barbara.

Clubs, sports and activities

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of California-Santa Barbara.

For information only. Confirm every figure with the school before you make decisions.