Coming soon. This is an early preview. Schools and figures are still being added.Data as of Oct 10, 2026
Schools / NC / University of North Carolina School of the Arts
Public

University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Winston Salem, NC
Official name

University of North Carolina School of the Arts

#WinstonSalem#PublicUniversity#Since1963

University of North Carolina School of the Arts is a public four-year school in Winston Salem, NC, with its campus in a city. It was founded in 1963[1]. It has about 945 undergraduates[5].

Founding year: Wikidata (community-edited) · Other facts: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard
Ebenvia rankComing soonOur own ranking is on its way.How we rank
63years of history[1]
  1. 1963Founded
  2. 2026Today
TypePublic
SettingCity
Undergraduates945[5]
From abroad3.8%[5]

Academics

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of North Carolina School of the Arts.

Visit the school’s page ↗

Costs

What a year at University of North Carolina School of the Arts costs in 2026-27, for non-resident students and for in-state students[2].

$46,666[2]A year, for non-resident students
$3,889A month, on average
$186,664Four years, if prices stay the same
≈ ₩62.7Mat ₩per $1 · reference rate, editable

Where the money goes

Non-resident$46,666[2]a year
In-state$27,204[2]a year

$19,462 more a year than an in-state student[2]

Non-residentIn-state
Tuition and fees$27,841[2]$9,507
Housing and food$14,069[2]$14,069
Books and supplies—[2]$1,000
Transport and personal—[2]$2,560
Health insurance and other—[2]$68

In-state figures are for U.S. residents, 2026-27. They are not what an international student pays.

Help paying, for students from abroad

Need-based aidNot stated on the school’s page[3]
ScholarshipsLimited[3]

As described by the school. Monthly and four-year figures are our own arithmetic from the yearly total.

Housing and food

Reported by the school to the U.S. Department of Education · per year, all students[5]
Room and board, on campus$13,517[5]
Room and board, off campus (not with family)$13,517[5]

The Scorecard does not say whether first-year housing is guaranteed or how many students live on campus. Check the school’s housing page.

Scorecard averages · reference only

Average cost of attendance$26,470[5]
Tuition, in-state / out-of-state$9,477 / $27,211[5]

These averages include U.S. students and the aid they receive. They are not an international student’s net price.

Getting in

TOEFL iBT 79[4]or IELTS 6.5

When to apply

Coming soonWe have not found the deadlines on the school’s page yet.

Your application checklist

Coming soonWe have not found the checklist on the school’s page yet.

Scores in detail

What the school asks for, and where its students land.

English test

TOEFL iBT
79[4]out of 120
TOEFL iBT, 1–6 scale
4[4]out of 6 · converted with the ETS table
IELTS
6.5[4]out of 9
Duolingo
100[4]out of 160

Stated as a minimum[4]

TOEFL iBT (incl. Home), IELTS Academic, DET; TOEFL scale not stated. Alt: SAT ERW 540/ACT ELA 21 with 3+ yrs US high school and 2.75 GPA.

Waiver or exemption: Transfer applicants with associate degree or 60+ US semester credits (2.75+ GPA) may waive.

TOEFL iBT moved to a 1–6 scale for tests taken from 21 January 2026.

SAT and ACT

You do not have to send one. If you do, the gold bar shows where the middle half of enrolled students land.

SATOptional
1140 to 1370[5]
Middle half of enrolled students · approximate, built from section percentiles
4001600
ACTOptional
22 to 29[5]
Middle half of enrolled students
136

Extra steps for students from abroad

Coming soonRecords from outside the U.S., proof of funds for the visa and translations will be listed here.

How many get in

30%[5]Of applicants are admitted (U.S. and international together)
Coming soonApplications a year
Coming soonAdmitted from abroad

Living in Winston Salem

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of North Carolina School of the Arts.

Clubs, sports and activities

Coming soonWe are still gathering this for University of North Carolina School of the Arts.

For information only. Confirm every figure with the school before you make decisions.